ALA South Central

Wednesday 14 November 2018

The ALA South Central Group is pleased to invite you to its ‘Death of a Farmer’ Workshop to be held at the offices of Moore Blatch at Gateway House, Tollgate, Chandlers Ford, Hampshire, on 14 November 2018.

Philip Whitcomb is a Partner in Moore Blatch’s Agricultural Tax and Trusts team and will be chairing the workshop with a view to exploring the practical action points you need to address following the death of a farmer.  The workshop will review the ongoing challenges when administering an estate with a farm; how you should approach completion of the IHT405 413 and 414 forms; getting the right information and avoiding the pitfalls.  This workshop will cover the following:

What is ‘a farmer’ – the characteristics and challenges

What makes up a farm?

First steps when you are notified of a death – how the family can help your case

The farming business – what you need to ask

Sole trader, a farming partnership or company?

Practical steps on how the farm is to run

The sole trader issue and the role of the farm management agreement

Financing and valuations

The event is open to Members and Non-Members.

Click here for full details and a booking form

Time : 4.30pm to 7.30pm

Cost : £15 (incl. VAT) per person incl. supper

All Upcoming Events

ALA North East

Friday 1 February 2019

ALA Starter for Ten 2019

Tuesday 26 February 2019 - Thursday 28 February 2019

ALA Council

Thursday 7 March 2019

European Council for Rural Law – XXX Congress of Agricultural Law

Wednesday 18 September 2019 - Saturday 21 September 2019

ALA Fellowship 2019

Monday 30 September 2019 - Wednesday 2 October 2019

ALA Fellowship 2019

Tuesday 15 October 2019 - Wednesday 16 October 2019

ALA Fellowship 2019 – Exam

Wednesday 6 November 2019